New orchestral work Klas Torstensson

City Imprints, Torstensson’s new composition for large symphony orchestra, was commissioned by the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra (GSO) to celebrate the 400-year anniversary of the city of Gothenburg, Sweden, in 2021…    

City Imprints is Torstensson’s first orchestra work following the much performed triptych A cycle of the North (2007-2012) Fastlandet, Polarhavet, Himmelen. This cycle was co-commissioned by a number of European orchestras for performances in venues such as Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Konserthuset Stockholm, Stavanger Konserthus (Norway), and Berwaldhallen Stockholm.

City Imprints

After having been destroyed several times in the previous centuries, the city of Gothenburg was founded and rebuild as a heavily fortified, primarily Dutch, trading colony, by royal charter in 1621.

In the centuries to follow, Gothenburg developed into Sweden’s main harbour for trade towards the west. Countless ships with emigrants sailed off to North America, and so did Pole expeditions heading for the North. Torstensson’s opera The Expedition (1994-1999) is about one of these expeditions – the unfortunate Andrée balloon expedition of 1897.

In City Imprints, we can hear not only traces of the farewells by the beloved ones, standing on the quay in the Gothenburg harbour, but also of the sounds originating from the shipbuilding industry (riveting machines!) and from the stonemasonry, both so typical for this city and its factories. Even the street network – the planning of the streets and canals of Gothenburg closely resembled that of Jakarta, which was built by the Dutch around the same time – has been given a modest place in the composition.

Before the reconstruction of the city in the beginning of the 17th century, it threatened to sink into the mud. In City Imprints, this sinking can be heard at the end of the work. Happily enough, in art, the chronology does not have to be realistic.

City Imprints as a soundscape: a personal search for both the public and the hidden memories of a city… Exciting and full of drama, but also of stillness and beauty.

 (Due to the Corona-pandemic the festivities have been postponed until a later date.)

Sweelinck according to Sarah Neutkens

In 1621 one of the greatest Dutch composers of all time passed away: Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck. 400 years after his death, NTR Podium asks six contemporary composers to transform his legacy into new music. One of them is composer Sarah Neutkens…   

As inspiration for her new work, Neutkens looked at Sweelinck’s vocal side. Four singers of the Nederlands Kamerkoor will sing the premiere. “I used a psalm text that Sweelinck also set to music, In te Domine speravi. That text is about hope, something that I think fits in these times.”

Neutkens has worked with singers of the Nederlands Kamerkoor in the past. The documentary The Camp of Sarah Neutkens follows her while she stays on Vlieland and writes music, at the invitation of the festival Into The Great Wide Open. “That collaboration tasted like more. The Nederlands Kamerkoor is one of the top choirs in the Netherlands, so it’s a treat that four singers are going to sing my music.”

“As a composer, I am not someone who gets very involved with the musicians during rehearsals. I like to leave the singers free to interpret the music. Music starts to flourish when the musicians start working on it.”

In te Domine speravi in Donemus Webshop

Sarah Neutkens at Donemus

Donemus welcomes Savvas Karantzias

Greek (Rhodian) composer Savvas Karantzias has signed a publishing contract with Donemus. His two large oratorios will be the first works to be published…   

Savvas Karantzias received his music education in A. Corelli Conservatory (Rhodes), where he is currently the Conservatory’s professor and director. He also works in the synthetic study of the sound phenomenon and the depiction of image in sound. He is co-founder of the festival “European Polyphony / Polyphonie Europeenne” and founder of Ars Artis Organization. His first appearance in the record industry was in 2015 in the record “Echomonologues”, done in collaboration with Subways Music. Karantzias has created multiform compositions for orchestra, choir, theater, chamber music and pieces of music for solo instruments. In 2016 he composed the music-theatrical play titled “O kiklos tou 10” (The circle of 10) which was presented at Michael Cacoyannis Foundation and has worked with very significant actors, directors and choreographers. In 2017 Karantzias composed the Oratorio “Theophanes the Greek”, about the founder of Russian iconography.

This work was presented before an audience for the first time at the Cathedral Church of the Annunciation in Rhodes, followed by a performance in Istanbul (Turkey). The play was subsequently presented at the Collège Notre Dame de France in Paris (France) and in the State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow (Russia). It was also presented at the Bibliotheca of Alexandria (Egypt) under the auspices of the Patriarchate of Alexandria and following the invitation of the Pope and the Patriarch Theodore II’ of Alexandria and all Africa, where he was awarded the honor of the Grand Commander of Our Lion Battalion of Alexandria. The compositions of Savvas Karantzias have traveled the world and his works were presented by significant Greek and international artists as well as by significant ensembles. In 2018 he started a long-term collaboration with the Moscow Synodal choir from whom he receives annual orders for the composition of new plays intended to be premiered in front of the Russian audience. In 2020 Karantzias composed the Oratorio “Andrei Rublev” which was presented in Moscow (Russia) in Zaryadye Concert Hall. Since 2020, Savvas Karantzias is represented worldwide by MUSICENTRY, the Donemus partner in Greece.

Musicentry continues the successful cooperation with Donemus Publishing for the worldwide promotion of Greek composers. We are pleased to announce the new publication of 2 superb works of the Rhodian composer Savvas Karantzias by Donemus Publishing. The powerful music of his two Oratorios with deep religious feeling ‘’Theophanes the Greek’’ & ‘’Andrei Rublev’’, will begin their worldwide journey.

Composer Savvas Karantzias:
I particularly welcome the beginning of my collaboration with Donemus Publishing House for the publication of my two works ‘’Theophanes the Greek’’ and ‘’Andrei Rublev’’. My special thanks to Davo van Peursen, as well as to Musicentry for their valuable support and representation.

Davo van Peursen:
We are impressed by the strong musical language of Savvas Karantzias. His oratorio “Theophanes the Greek” is an impressive composition with past performances at important venues. Donemus is looking forward to cooperating with him and with Muscentry to gain more attention to his oeuvre.

Website Savvas Karantzias

Savvas Karantzias at Musicentry