Jacob TV: Tallahatchie Concerto by Aachen Symphony Orchestra

Geplaatst op

On 28 February at 8pm the Aachen Symphony Orchestra will stream a performance of JacobTV’s Tallahatchie Concerto. The soloist is Asya Fateyev and the conductor is Conrad van Alphen…   

Jacques Ibert’s entertaining “Hommage à Mozart”, composed for the 200th birthday of the master, radiates cheerfulness and a touch of irony. The Dutch Jacob ter Veldhuis, praised as the “Andy Warhol of new music”, embarks on a “voyage of discovery for moments of beauty, bliss and ecstasy” in his Tallahatchie Concerto. Claude Debussy colored his Rhapsody with Spanish and Moorish melodies and rhythms. Bizet’s melodious First Symphony sparkles with temperament and originality.

An overview of the concert program:
Jacques Ibert: “Hommage à Mozart”
Jacob ter Veldhuis: Tallahatchie Concerto
Claude Debussy: Rhapsody for saxophone and orchestra
Georges Bizet: Symphony No. 1

The guest conductor is the internationally renowned Dutch conductor Conrad van Alphen, while the soloist is the young saxophonist Asya Fateyeva.

“Concert at home”

“Konzert zu Hause” is the new streaming portal for classical music from classicnl in cooperation with Theater und Sinfonieorchester Aachen. The current Corona measures make it impossible to experience classical concerts live in the concert hall. Yet it is precisely in these times that people’s need for classical music and concert experiences is at its greatest! For their audience, the Aachen Symphony Orchestra has therefore developed the platform “Concert at Home”.

By enjoying the concerts from home, one’s financial contribution also supports the Aachen Symphony Orchestra and enables them to continue this offer for their audience. Therefore, one may decide on the price for enjoying a concert: € 5,- € 10,- or € 15,-.

Tallahatchie Concerto

Acclaimed as the ‘Andy Warhol’ of new music, Dutchman Jacob Ter Veldhuis in his Tallahatchie Concerto, sets off on a voyage of discovery to moments of beauty, bliss and ecstasy. In 20 years’ time, this concerto has become a standard work among saxophone concertos. Soloists such as Arno Bornkamp, Branford Marsalis, Ties Mellema and Robert Buckland have included the work in their repertoire. It was on the desks of Radio Kamerorkest, Brno, Cincinnati, Dusseldorf, Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestras, among others, while the wind band version has been performed by, among others, Branford with the US Navy Band.
There is also a piano extract, and versions for string quintet and piano or saxophone quartet and piano.

On 28 February at 8 pm one can look forward to the 4th symphony concert in the stream. Tickets are now available at the website of classicnl.