JacobTV: World premiere by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Geplaatst op

The Concertgebouworkest kicks off the 2020/2021 season with Beethoven’s astounding ‘Eroica’ Symphony and a brand new work specially composed for the orchestra by JacobTV (Jacob ter Veldhuis). The conductor is François-Xavier Roth…   

On August 20 and 23, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra will perform a new work by JacobTV (Jacob ter Veldhuis), one of the Netherlands’ most successful composers. His music, as innovative as it is accessible, and often based on current topics, reaches a wide international audience. In as early as 2005, the Concertgebouworkest first performed one of his works. Time to get reacquainted! What will JacobTV pull out of his hat in these strange times? ‘WHO, WHAT, WHERE, WHEN, WHY? voices the spirit of the current times, it is a snapshot of a rapidly changing world’, says the composer. Commissioned by the RCO, conducted by maestro François Xavier Roth.

The composer:

In WWWWW I express my confusion and speechlessness about our world, full of complex ecological, political, social, cultural, humanitarian and economic problems. The term ‘Who, what, where, when, why’, also called the ‘5 Ws’, consists of 5 core questions to gather information or solve problems. In philosophy or journalism, for instance, the 5 Ws are often applied. In WWWWW I try to capture today’s world in music: a snapshot of a rapidly changing world.

More info about the concerts

Link to the score at Donemus