Svitlana Azarova

Ukraine, January 1, 1976

Svitlana Azarova is a Ukrainian/Dutch composer of contemporary classical music. She was born on January 9, 1976, in the Ukrainian SSR of the Soviet Union and is currently living in The Hague.
Marek Kopelent, Luis de Pablo, Paul Mefano, Jean-Yves Bossier and Zygmunt Krauze (Czech Republic). After having graduated from Ismail Pedagogical Institute as music teacher in 1996, Svitlana entered Odessa State A.V. Nezhdanova Conservatoire where she studied composition, first under Prof. Olexander Krasotov and later under Prof. Karmella Tsepkolenko, until her graduation as composer in 2000. In that same year she took master-classes with Faraj Karaev and Krzystof Meyer in Azerbeidzjan. In 2003, Svitlana participated in the 6 month long Gaude Polonia – a scholarship program of the Ministry Culture of Republic Poland, at the Frédéric Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw with professor Marcin Blazewicz.
With a grant of the society KulturKontakt Austria, Svitlana elected to participate in the 9th International Academy for New Composition and Audio-Art, Avantgarde Tirol in 2005 with Professor Boguslaw Schaeffer and Dr. Richard Boulanger. After this academy, she took up permanent residency of The Hague and began post-graduate studies in 2006 at conservatoire in Amsterdam under Theo Loevendie, where she graduated Master of Music in 2007.
Svitlana has participated in many international workshops, festivals and projects. Some recent examples are Foro de Música Nueva – INBA (Mexico, 2013), Chamber Music Day (Holland, 2009), Musica Viva (Germany, 2007), and International Festival of Modern Art Two Days and Two Nights of New Music (Ukraine, 2001-2003, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2011).
Svitlana Azarova has written compositions for various instruments and ensembles. Her works are performed in Armenia, Austria, Germany, Italy, Latvia, The Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Ukraine and the USA, by for example New European Ensemble, Orchestre National d'Île de France, conductor Enrique Mazzola (Salle Pleyel), Eastern Connecticut Symphony Orchestra, conductor Toshi Shimada (USA), Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest, conductor Marc Albrecht (Concertgebouw), etc.
Some recent titles are: ‘Hundred thirty one Angstrom’ for large orchestra (2014), ‘Concerto Grosso’ for violin, viola solo and string orchestra (2013), ‘Mover of the Earth, Stopper of the Sun’ for symphony orchestra commissioned by Orchestre National d’Ille de France (ONDIF, 2011), and performed by the Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest (NedPho). ‘Pure thoughts transfixed’ for large orchestra (2010), ‘Beyond Context’ for chamber orchestra by the Polish Institute in Kiev (Ukraine, 2008), ‘Trojaborg’ or solo clarinet by Michel Marang (The Netherlands, 2007) and ‘On Tuesdays’ for ensemble by Nieuw Ensemble (2007). On commission by the Royal Danish Opera (big stage), she wrote the opera ‘Momo’ (2015).
Her music is represented on the Compact Discs ‘Candours of Mystery’ (2003) and ‘Red, White and Blues’ (2007).

Latest publications

Live performances of Svitlana Azarova’s works

Svitlana Azarova on Spotify

Svitlana Azarova on SoundCloud

Recently published works by Svitlana Azarova