Joey Roukens, Morphic Waves (World Premiere)

In this program, also bringing Mahler’s Rückert-Lieder and Brahms’ Fourth Symphony, Joey Roukens is appearing as the composer-in-residence of the Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest. Joey Roukens composed Morphic Waves (conducted by the orchestra’s Chief conductor Marc Albrecht) especially for this concert. In this new work, Roukens gives percussion the central role. According to De Volkskrant, “Roukens is geen modernist. Hij put uit bronnen als Stravinsky, Orff of, recenter, Steve Reich en vooral John Adams, ook een aartseclecticus. Maar met die geleende elementen ontwikkelt hij een eigen betoog, waarin hij niet benauwd is stevig uit te pakken.”

Joey Roukens, Morphic Waves (World Premiere) on Spotify

Joey Roukens, Morphic Waves (World Premiere) on SoundCloud

Published 6 years ago

Our Team’s Picks

Composers in the crosshairs of our attention