Alla Zagaykevych


The list of Zagaykevych’s works includes symphonic, instrumental and vocal chamber music, electro-acoustic compositions, multi-media installations and performances, chamber opera, music for films.

She collaborate with such musicians as The National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine, ensembles CAT, Archi, Frescos, New Performance, Cluster Ensemble, Ricoshet Ensemble, Kyiv Camerata, Sed Kontra, Ensemble Court-Circuit, Ensemble Contemporaine de Montreal, Kammersymphoniker, Ensemble Recherche, QNG - Quartet New Generation, Ensemble für Neue Musik Zürich, Anti-Social Music Ensemble, Sepia Ensemble, KONTRA-TRIO, Jorge Isaac , Lenka Zubkova, Anna Zielinska, Silk Road Duo, Ilia Belorukov, Vladislav Makarov, Setgiy Okhrimchuk, Natalka Polovynka, Petro Tovstukha, Vitally Kyianytsia, Kostiantyn Tovstukha.


In 1999 she recived Grant of the President of Ukraine for performance of 
chamber opera 'Numbers and Wind' ('Drawings by 
Memory') based on the poetry of M. Vorobyov.

In 2004 she was awarded the Oleksandr Dovzhenko State Award of Ukraine for music for film MAMAY and has received numerous other awards for his work. She is Winner of International Electroacoustic Music Competition MUSICA NOVA 2011 (Honorary Mention). In 2015 she was awarded the M.Lysenko's Award for music for films MAMAY and GUIDE.

Other pursuits

In 1986-1999 she was a member of the folklore Ensemble “Drevo” of the National Music Academy of Ukraine, where she investigated Ukrainian authentic singing and participated in numerous folkloric expeditions, conferences, festivals.

Since the mid-1990-th Alla Zagaykevych is an active promoter of academic electro-acoustic music trends in Ukraine, where she collaborates with performers of experimental electronic and new improvisation music. Since 1998 she is a lecturer at the Music Information Technologies’ Department of the National Music Academy of Ukraine (Kiev), where she founded the Electroacoustics Music Studio (supported by International Renaissance Foundation) in 1997. In 2008 she is invited to give master-classes and lectures at the International Workshop for Young composer in Mazsalaca, Latvia.

Alla Zagaykevych has been the Artistic Director of International projects Electroacoustics (Kyiv, since 2003), EM-VISIA (Kyiv, from 2005), Artistic Director of Electroacoustic’s Ensemble (since 2009) and President of Electroacoustic Music Association of Ukraine (since 2010).

Also, she is author of musicological articles in scientific periodicals (Ukrajins’ke Muzykoznavstvo, Muzyka, Krytyka, Organised Sound, MusikText).


Alla Zagaykevych (b.1966) is a Ukrainian composer of contemporary classical music, performance artist, organizer of electroacoustic music projects, musicologist.

She graduated from Kyiv State P.I.Tchaikovsky Conservatory (now National Music Academy of Ukraine), and completed post-graduate course led by Yuri Ischenko and Igor Piaskovsky (1993). In 1995-1996 she continued her studies with Tristan Murail, Brian Ferneyhough at the Annual Course for Composition and Musical Informatics at the IRCAM. In 1999 – 2002 she participated in workshops of composition given by Brian Ferneyough, Toshio Hosokawa, Johannes Schöllhorn, Beat Furer (The Royaumont Fondation, Internationale Ferienkurse fur Neue Musik in Darmstadt, Workshop of Takefu International Music Festival).


Live performances of Alla Zagaykevych’s works

Live at Plivka (Kiev, Ukraine)

Alla Zagaykevych on Spotify

Alla Zagaykevych on SoundCloud

Recently published works by Alla Zagaykevych